Home | Troubleshooting |  Quick Setup  |  Cisco How to  |  Wireless  |  Forums   | Site Map | Services  | About Us | Chicagotech MVP  | Search  | Contact Us  |              

 

 

How to delete and then restore the user profile

To delete and then restore the user profile, we can use a tool called Windows User State Migration Tool (USMT) to backup the user's profile, then deleted the profile and restored it.

For more information about USMT, you can refer to the following article:

Windows User State Migration Tool (USMT) Version 3.0.1
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=799AB28C-691B-4B36-
B7AD-6C604BE4C595&displaylang=en

Regarding how to delete the user profile, we can try the following steps.

1. Please first user USMT to back up the user's profile.
2. Logon to the machine with a local administrator account. Click Start and
then click Run.
3. Type "sysdm.cpl" (without quotation mark) in the open box and then press
Enter.
4. Click the Advanced tab and then Click Settings button beside "User
Profiles"
5. Select the Profile you want to delete and then click Delete button.
6. Restart the computer and check whether this profile has been deleted
successfully. If so, please logon with the deleted account to re-create it
on the machine.

Post your questions, comments, feedbacks and suggestions

Contact a consultant

Related Topics


 

 


 

 

Hit Counter   This web is provided "AS IS" with no warranties.
Copyright 2002-2015 ChicagoTech.net, All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction forbidden.